Tuesday, December 14, 2010

The Year of Better Choices

What we expose ourselves to in this modern world makes me shake my head and wonder: How stupid are we? 

The headlines and internet articles warning of impending DOOM abound. Known carcinogens in our food supply, water and air. Smoking. Drunk driving. The invention of crystal meth. Huffing. Depression. Addictions. Poisons that fill our homes in the name of convenience. Formaldehyde hair treatments. Chem-trails. Genetically modified food sources, organisms, seeds and animals. Radiation. Climate change. Political sideshows. Racial tensions. Financial crises. Homelessness. Poverty. Hunger. Gun collecting. Gold stockpiling. Exploding rates of autism, cancers, auto-immune disorders, allergies, asthma, personality disorders, stroke, communicable diseases, heart attack, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, obesity, diabetes, deadly influenza and ADHD.

So I pondered and came to one recurring thought: What if none of these are separate from the others? What if humans have compounded the serious mistake of bio-genetic experimentation with grandiose thinking, greed, mass propaganda, short-sighted goals and good, old-fashioned, dabbling in evil? What if we've brought about an irreversible chain of events? What if we've not only bought the kool-aid, but we've taught our kids to love it, and their kids too? Is there any going back from here, the instant, life-size, microwavable, digitally enhanced, edge of oblivion? Or were the Mayans right?

Listening to a cluster of academics and one consumer advocate on a recent episode of Dr. Oz, I was forced to consider that darkest of all truths. What if bio-engineering these "Genetically Modified" foods really isn't about saving the planet or ending world hunger? What if it's just about making a buck and they simply don't care what the potential side effects might be? Their response, and I am quotingThere is no need for, or value in testing the safety of GM Foods in humans. So long as the introduced protein is determined safe, food from GM crops determined to be substantially equivalent is not expected to pose any health risks. Further, it is impossible to design a long-term safety test in humans.” 


So they've already done the GMing, already grown it, already sold it to (an unsuspecting) you, your kids have ALREADY EATEN IT, and they refuse to (in any way, shape or form) label it GMO?!? The answer is yes. Unless you grow ALL your own food, from your own seeds, without ANY mass-produced chemicals or fertilizers, you and I have likely consumed some Monsanto/Roundup proof/GMO products.

So then I had the even eviler thought, what if Agribusiness, in conjunction with big chemicals, decided to form an alliance with big pharma? How screwed would we be? Just for a moment, let yourself believe that it IS possible for this to happen in the United States of America.

If all processed foods were manipulated to make you sick slowly (hypothetically), causing symptoms you could buy pills to solve, you'd likely keep eating them. After all, they are so gosh darn convenient. So now you're buying the colon cleanse and the yogurts to help get things right again. If then they started making you abnormally fat, with large fat stores in places that are difficult to lose from, the upper arms, face and gut? So now they sell you a thousand different "weight-loss products," although none that offer results once you stop using them. Would you stop eating processed food then? What about if they gave you reflux disease, gallbladder and intestinal problems requiring surgery?  Still No? So ten years later, when they tell you it's a rare cancer, will you look at your plate and blame the soy burger? Not a chance! And even if you did, you'd never, EVER be able to prove it. As Agribusiness grows larger and more profitable, your choices grow slimmer. As long as the entire population tries them, then no one can ever truly BLAME them.

Proof in point, let's just look at cigarettes. If the government TRULY wanted to protect the citizens (from themselves), it would be massively regulated. Someone would have bio-engineered safe tobacco by now. But that hasn't happened. Why? You can call it a "free market," but I guarantee that ALL tax-payers foot the bill for tobacco-caused diseases. Free seems to be something like aloha these days. It can mean without cost; short for freedom; or reckless, lacking morality or entanglements. So why don't they have to be labeled "Cancer Sticks" rather than cigarettes? Because if one person smokes their whole life without getting cancer, it can be argued that there's no cause and effect relationship.

While I'm running wild with my conspiracy theories: let's say (hypothetically), we also have a "population problem." By definition, (purely for discussion) let's say we have a ballooning number of soon-to-be retirees and impoverished children of single parent homes. The middle ages of our citizenry are (mostly) productive workers, so they have value in our little experiment. But the very poor young and the elderly, those are high-burden ages. What if there were an illness that could target just the burdens? Hmmmm....like say, for instance, a nasty bird or swine flu? What would happen if a genetically-engineered, super-flu were introduced into large, over-crowded cities? Massive epidemic in the short-term, but perhaps a great relief in the long-run. Likely just before something like this could happen, you would need to see great expansion in the funeral home and crematory industry (just thinking ahead). Stranger still, I think I've heard a few recent news stories about those permit debates lately...surely not.

Reading book after book from angered parents about the possible link between required vaccines and autism, my heart goes out to all those affected. As a direct result, I did become a cautious parent with my youngest child, who (thankfully) does not have any sign of it. But he does have ADHD, as do his two brothers. We remain unmedicated at present time, mostly because I despise the thought of them requiring a daily prescription stimulant to function. I can't say that's an easy choice, nor does it make my life particularly pleasant most days. But then again, no one ever told me parenting would be fun.

When I lay awake at three a.m., unsettled and uncertain, it has occurred to me that perhaps our food may be a contributing factor in all these little phenomena. Even better I realize, what's the worst thing that can happen if I'm wrong about this? Say that GMO food is completely safe and healthy, yet I insist on avoiding them, what harm will come? Organic costs more, so maybe we eat a little less. But preparing foods at home is still cheaper than eating out, so maybe it will offset. The nagging thought remains, and must be said, what if the conspiracy theorists are right?  Then the price of doing nothing could literally be the life and/or health of someone I love.

I hereby issue forth this promise - to my family (and to anyone else reading this) - 2011 will be my "Year of Better Choices."  I will not count calories or log reps in a workout planner. I will move for SIXTY minutes each day - briskly, in a row, and for the purpose of creating sweat. I will use my fancy water filtration system, pitchers and stainless steel bottles I already own. I will thus forego all bottled and tap water for human consumption in my home. I will travel bi-weekly to Whole Foods, and shop the local organic farmers' market. I vow that NO amount of begging, pleading, whining or shouting will coerce the purchase of processed foods to enter this kitchen (before 2012 when the world is going to end anyway). I recognize the additional labor required to accomplish this (as the sole household cook) and undertake it with informed consent. This constitutes the full intent of my pledge, although I remain free to add other better choices as the year goes along. It is so done, so sayeth the Mom.

[p.s. Note to self - adjust Christmas list to include bread maker.]

 

1 comment:

  1. No plastic..done! Moving and using my muscles daily....good idea (so reasonable)! Better choices ....oh, if you only knew =)! No more GMO...well, thankfully, outside the USA, that is so much less of an issue...but, point well taken, thank you!! And, Andrea, you are a terrific, articulate writer! I am thrilled to be on your "friends list"!

    ReplyDelete